Happiness in all shape and form!


Hello Peeps!!!!!!!!

Life is strange in it’s ways and strangest when in it’s mine! I have so many thoughts and ideas and I wish I could pen them all but mundane activities take all my time and energy. Hey stop don’t think I am here to fret! 🙂

Recently I read few pages from the book ‘The Art of Happiness (thoughts of Dalai Lama on Happiness complied by Dr. Howard C. Cutler)‘ and it was a revelation in itself. The book highlights how happiness is or should be our ultimate pursuit and that very well synchronizes with the principle of nirvana. I use to think why do people seek nirvana and it’s all the more confusing because it’s so difficult to achieve. The answer is we seek happiness in various ways and call it different names but in the end that’s our aim in life. I still have to grab my own copy and read it but that made me think how our memories and happy moments do influence our choices, our likes and dislikes .

I started writing the blog with the thought I would pen down something about comfort food and childhood memories and entirely strayed away from the topic. Coming back to my main topic – last weekend I was missing home and mom ke haatho ka khana so thought of making poha with tea. Just to relive those simple plain adorable moments with mum. Once upon a time when I was a lil’ girl and mum would make poha for us in evening and I would marvel at her culinary skills and think she is amazing!

Well she is still amazing what has changed is my perception and cooking skills and I know I can make this even if I am blindfolded!

I don’t mean to say I am expert in kitchen just that it’s very easy and you should definitely make it if you like poha in any variation or form – most importantly if it reminds you of someone special.

Method

1 1/2 cups jada poha (beaten rice flakes)– soaked in water for 5 minutes
1 1/2 cups boiled sprouts or pea instead of potatoes,

Spices: 1/2 tsp mustard seeds ( rai / sarson)
1 large onion, finely chopped
1 to 2 green chillies, chopped
1/4 tsp turmeric powder (haldi)
1 tsp oil

Add before serving – 3 tsp lemon juice
1.       Place the poha on a sieve and wash lightly. Drain and leave aside for 10 minutes.
2.       Heat the oil in a non-stick pan and add the mustard seeds. When they crackle, add the onion and green chillies and sauté till the onion turns translucent.
3.       Add the mixed sprouts, turmeric powder, sugar and salt with approx. ½ cup of water and sauté for 3 to 4 minutes.
4.       Add the poha and lemon juice and mix well.
5.       Serve hot, garnished with the coriander.



Hey before you leave can I please ask you to leave a comment or feedback just for my improvement 😉

5 thoughts on “Happiness in all shape and form!

    • Hey Petra – How are you? Good to hear from you and thanks for visiting my blog 🙂
      You are one of my role model bloggers – so still trying to learn from you 😉

  1. @ ankita: In response to your comment
    How are you gurl! Miss chatting with you. You know me sooooo welllll anki anything from Food to Nirvana excites me and this is nothing new for you. Remember I use to switch subjects all the time and you would always catch
    up with me and woul…d get three topics together without complaining!
    I am not taking any offence that’s the whole purpose of the post – serious
    to simple pleasures in life all make you happy so just chill and relax and
    you might attain nirvana with spoonful POHA!!!!! I am soooooooooo happy it made you laugh !

Leave a Reply

